Advisory Committee

WRHR Advisory Committee
The Advisory Committee for the Program is composed of Senior members of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology and selected Senior Leaders in other Departments at Washington University with a strong interest in women’s health and the training and development of new investigators. The committee will be responsible for two major functions: 1. Evaluation of progress of and applications from WRHR scholar candidates, and 2. Overall conduct of the WUSM WRHR Program.  Additional tasks will include making recommendations to the Principal Investigator as to WRHR scholar appointments and evaluating ongoing activities on an annual basis.  The composition of the committee includes a variety of research interests and backgrounds in order to reflect the diversity of programs/departments all interested in Women’s Reproductive Health Research at Washington University and to maximize the overall experience represented on the committee. 

George A. Macones, MD, MSCI 
Mitchell and Elaine Yanow Professor and Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Kelle H. Moley, MD 
James P. Crane Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Vice Chair of Basic Science Research
Director, Basic Science Research

Dave Mutch, MD 
Ira C. and Judith Gall Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Vice Chair of Gynecology
Director, Division of Gynecologic Oncology

Jeffrey Peipert, MD, MPH, MHA
Robert J. Terry Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Vice Chair of Clinical Research

Alan Schwartz, MD, PhD
Chairman, Department of Pediatrics
Executive Director, Children’s Discovery Institute
Pediatrician-in-Chief, St. Louis Children’s Hospital
Professor of Developmental Biology
The Harriet B. Spoehrer Prfessor, Department of Pediatrics

Laura Bierut, MD 
Alumni Endowed Professor of Psychiatry 

Scott Hultgren,PhD
Helen L. Stover Professor of Molecular Microbiology
Director, Center for Women’s Infectious Disease Research

Jean Schaffer, MD
Virginia Minnich Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Director, Diabetic Cardiovascular Disease Center and Diabetes Research Center 

Wayne Yokoyama, MD
Sam J. Levin and Audrey Loew Levin Chair for Research on Arthritis
Professor, Pathology and Immunology
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Director, Medical Scientist Training Program

WRHR Outside Consultants
In addition to the Program evaluation by the Advisory Committee, a separate group of two outside expert consultants are asked to review the Program and provide a consultant’s view of the Program, its objectives, and its progress.  

Dr. E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA
Vice President for Medical Affairs
John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor
Dean of the School of Medicine
Professor, Departments of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Medicine, and Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
University of Maryland 

Dr. Jerome Strauss III, MD, PhD
Dean, School of Medicine
Executive Vice President for Medical Affairs, VCU Health System
Virginia Commonwealth University